Fly Fishing Forums
Go Back   Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Discussion
Forums Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line!
Posts: 2,891
aenoon is on a distinguished road
Default MALWARE/SPYWARE WARNING

Do not use the river nith salmon fishing website with this address DO NOT CLICK ON LINK!!

RIVERNITHFISHINGS.CO.UK OR River Nith Salmon Fishing Dumfries Scotland
The site has been compromised and is downloading malicious spyware and keyloggers as soon as you access the site.
If you have been on site in last month i suggest you update your internet protection software and run scans to try to eliminate threat.
I have informed administrator of the site, who is aware of problem, but it may be a day or two before site is pulled.
regards
bert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:20 PM
stuartpengs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,365
stuartpengs will become famous soon enough
Default

How were you made aware of this Bert?

*Edit*, Doesn't matter, I see Google have flags up on the site links.

Last edited by stuartpengs; 01-06-2010 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line!
Posts: 2,891
aenoon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartpengs View Post
How were you made aware of this Bert?
Had a few problems accesing site in last month or so, emailed liam who runs site, he told me a few folk have also reported problem, but some folk were getting on ok.
He confirmed site had been hijacked, and was getting web designer to eradicate problem, however in last few days my windows firewall and norton protection system have been sending out malware/spyware warnings about site.
windows one says it has been reported as malicious, norton just tells me that attacks have been made and prevented.
regards
bert
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:32 PM
stuartpengs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,365
stuartpengs will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenoon View Post
Had a few problems accesing site in last month or so, emailed liam who runs site, he told me a few folk have also reported problem, but some folk were getting on ok.
He confirmed site had been hijacked, and was getting web designer to eradicate problem, however in last few days my windows firewall and norton protection system have been sending out malware/spyware warnings about site.
windows one says it has been reported as malicious, norton just tells me that attacks have been made and prevented.
regards
bert
Are you running two active AV software programmes at the same time Bert?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line!
Posts: 2,891
aenoon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartpengs View Post
Are you running two AV software programmes at the same time Bert?
Not at same time, but regularly switch between 4, windows, norton, mcafee, and spybot as main one, spybot only finds them if they are on system, others prevent.
regards
bert
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:40 PM
stuartpengs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,365
stuartpengs will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenoon View Post
Not at same time, but regularly switch between 4, windows, norton, mcafee, and spybot as main one, spybot only finds them if they are on system, others prevent.
regards
bert
Ah, I see you're aware of issues running two at the same time then. No worries then.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line!
Posts: 2,891
aenoon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartpengs View Post
Ah, I see you're aware of issues running two at the same time then. No worries then.
Stuart,
I have a home network that most small businesses would be proud off!
two desktops, three laptops, three xbox live, one nintendo dsi and 6 wap enabled mobiles!! virus protection is paramount, given what my familly get up to on the web!!
bt dont know what hit them!!
regards
bert
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:50 PM
stuartpengs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,365
stuartpengs will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenoon View Post
Stuart,
I have a home network that most small businesses would be proud off!
two desktops, three laptops, three xbox live, one nintendo dsi and 6 wap enabled mobiles!! virus protection is paramount, given what my familly get up to on the web!!
bt dont know what hit them!!
regards
bert
Wow, all that, and yet it was Liam who told you it was infected. Worried?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland and anywhere i can wet a line!
Posts: 2,891
aenoon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartpengs View Post
Liam who told you it was infected. Worried?
not at all, it was me who told liam, he acknowledged the fact (which was unbeknown to him, that site had been hijacked), after i had sent him the warning messages, and he confirmed someone was looking into it. (this was 5 weeks ago)
He has also now confirmed he aint running site/updates anymore, for whatever reason.
Hence my warning, site is unstable. i have in last 24 hours asked him to pull it, but these things take time, and site may catch out innocent users, thus my post.
i am not worried, nor am i concerned, i just thought that it would be appropriate to warn other users, of which there are many, of the web sites problems, hopefully preventing the problems associated with these specific attacks.
regards
bert

Last edited by aenoon; 01-06-2010 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2010, 09:58 PM
stuartpengs's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,365
stuartpengs will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aenoon View Post
not at all, it was me who told liam, he acknowledged the fact (which was unbeknown to him, that site had been hijacked), after i had sent him the warning messages, and he confirmed someone was looking into it.
He has also now confirmed he aint running site/updates anymore, for whatever reason.
why should i be worried?
regards
bert
it was a joke . .Bert.
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Loading...
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006-2011 Fish&Fly Ltd