Fly Fishing Forums
Go Back   Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Discussion
Forums Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2010, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 60
makermbob is on a distinguished road
Default Hamilton-Products

Has anyone had anything to do with this company, they have been advertising ,glitter flies , bugs, attractor scent etc.etc. all for a very low price.
They have advertised in some of the fishing mags.
Any feedback, positive or negative would be glady accepted , please feel free to PM me.

cheers Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:24 PM
andersonangling's Avatar
Trade Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wellbank
Posts: 953
andersonangling is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to andersonangling
Default SCAM

ITS A SCAM MATE...BELIEVE ME
__________________
www.angusangling.co.uk

www.facebook.com/angusangling

Shop Address
Angus Angling,
117 East High St,
Forfar.
Tel 01307 466366
"Fly Fishing and Fly Tying Supplies"

Trout Angling Instructor SGAIC

Main Dealer For LOOP, Guideline, Airflo, Hareline, FLYBOX, SIMMS, Wychwood, Wapsi and Veniards.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30-04-2010, 11:07 PM
trooter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Shetland
Posts: 8
trooter is on a distinguished road
Default

Definately a scam, I sent for a reel and line for a rediculously low price, should have known better. Recieved a letter yesterday saying it will be delayed, checked my bank account just now and cheque has gone through with an extra zero on amount!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: durham
Posts: 1,123
abacus180 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooter View Post
Definately a scam, I sent for a reel and line for a rediculously low price, should have known better. Recieved a letter yesterday saying it will be delayed, checked my bank account just now and cheque has gone through with an extra zero on amount!
The Hamilton SCAM has already been discussed. But interesting to read the extra zero bit. I heard of this type of fraud from a banker, hence 8 changes to 80 and eight changes to eighty on the cheque.
Can anyone tell me how the Hamilton SCAM and others similar cannot be eventually caught by the banking authorities when cheque accounts are traceable?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 09:04 AM
New member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
malce is on a distinguished road
Default Hamilton Products Scam

I also fell into the trap, basically using previous offers they built up a client data base, they then thew in the big offer an airflo reel/etc for £8.00 pounds!
Then changed all the cheques to £80.00.
I have sent all my correspondence etc to the Metropolitan Fraud Squad, who are dealing with the matter, I also phoned Lloyds TSB bank who they held their account with. I do not expect to see any money back because the MET said that this type of scam was very common. ( do not use cheques any more!!!)
Malce
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 09:47 AM
trooter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Shetland
Posts: 8
trooter is on a distinguished road
Default

My banks fraud dept have refunded me and are passing details to police. I have also thought about contacting Trading Standards.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Co.Antrim, NI
Posts: 496
hutchy1379 is on a distinguished road
Default

same again. Airflo airlite for £8 (thinking it was an advertising campaign or similar) and changed £8 to £80.
Scam and the more people that know the better
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 02:38 PM
shrek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fife
Posts: 411
shrek is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to shrek
Default

£8 for an airlite reel and nobody was suspicious??????????? lol
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 02:58 PM
fredaevans's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: White City, Oregon, USA.
Posts: 13,830
fredaevans is a jewel in the roughfredaevans is a jewel in the rough
Wink My thoughts too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrek View Post
£8 for an airlite reel and nobody was suspicious??????????? lol
We have an old 'one liner' to the effect: "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably isn't."

fae
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18-05-2010, 03:18 PM
shrek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fife
Posts: 411
shrek is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to shrek
Default

we have the same over here, but some folks just can't resist lol
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Loading...
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006-2011 Fish&Fly Ltd