Fly Fishing Forums
Go Back   Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Discussion
Forums Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Leitrim
Posts: 444
sonnaghan is on a distinguished road
Default Worried

I am worried because every time I go on this forum something called spybot flashes on the screen (Now I have spyware alert up) telling me a trojan or something like that is attacking me.
I have AVG. Is anyone else getting these messages?
There is no important info on this PC and when I follow the instructions, they want my credit card details.
The PC experts are coming down tomorrow(viz the children)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:29 AM
cb cb is offline
Fish&Fly
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 790
Blog Entries: 2
cb is on a distinguished road
Default

It does sound like you are 'infected'. I use Malwarebytes (free) which I have found very effective when others have failed. http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Good luck!

Colin.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:35 AM
tk8456's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 809
tk8456 is on a distinguished road
Default

Run the spybot (I use it) see what it finds.

It obviously knows something is there, but wont do anything until you ask it.
Bit odd really, but a good program to have
__________________
You don't go out looking for a job dressed like that do you, on a weekday?

www.ukgarrison.co.uk
xbox live gamertag TK Tango Sucka

John Danter
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:37 AM
BRUCE1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: a village outside of York
Posts: 11,203
BRUCE1 is a jewel in the roughBRUCE1 is a jewel in the rough
Default

malwarebytes is good as is superantispyware, i have both on my system along with AVG,SPYBOT,AD-AWARE ,ZONEALARM ,

link to "FREE" download fo superantispyware

http://www.superantispyware.com/?tag...PERANTISPYWARE
__________________
WHEN YOU LEAVE THE RIVER, TAKE NOTHING, AND LEAVE ONLY FOOTPRINT'S!!!

THA CAN TELL A YORKSHIREMAN ,BUT THA CAN'T TELL HIM MUCH !!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:45 AM
midlander's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,941
midlander will become famous soon enough
Default

Spybot S&D is a pretty good program but is run by donations so so it shouldn't be asking for CC details. In any event, never give out your CC details to anything unsolicited. Pretty obvious but worth mentioning.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 11:49 AM
boyne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Co. Meath, Ireland
Posts: 151
boyne is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, spybot will never ask for money. You should download it and run it from your pc. Also run a full system scan with AVG after you have updated it!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:26 PM
johnr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: central/scotland
Posts: 418
Blog Entries: 2
johnr is on a distinguished road
Default

i have seen this before. i think you must have downloaded a trojan. it scans your computer and tells you that you have downloaded various spyware and viruses and that you must remove them for a small fee(£)
DONT DO IT!!!!!
run Malwarebytes or adware (free) and what ever virus protection you have installed.
once removed ,install spywareblaster (free)this helps stop future attacks
__________________
fishing in scottish waters
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:36 PM
Texxa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Renfrewshire's missionary to the Lothians
Posts: 1,677
Texxa is on a distinguished road
Default

Sonnaghan

That's my special spy software....in fact I am watching you just now sitting there in your Y fronts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:46 PM
BRUCE1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: a village outside of York
Posts: 11,203
BRUCE1 is a jewel in the roughBRUCE1 is a jewel in the rough
Default

like a lot of "free quick virus scans" you think great you set it going and when its done it says something like you have 15 trojans ,2 registry issues etc etc and thats because they put them there so you buy the software the assholes ,dont do any "free quick virus scans"

download a proper programme ,then update and do a full scan ................
__________________
WHEN YOU LEAVE THE RIVER, TAKE NOTHING, AND LEAVE ONLY FOOTPRINT'S!!!

THA CAN TELL A YORKSHIREMAN ,BUT THA CAN'T TELL HIM MUCH !!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2009, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Leitrim
Posts: 444
sonnaghan is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you all. Did what was suggested. 4 Major viruses found. Cleaned the PC. Think the problem came from youtube. Was looking at an American Fly tying class last evening. By the way, have an Epson D88 printer here. Would not work.. Thought about things, went on their help line and it was suggested the printer was V old. It is. But I discovered that 2 cartridges had slipped a fraction. Re-inserted and Bingo! It is working fine.
Happy Days.
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Loading...
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006-2011 Fish&Fly Ltd