Fly Fishing Forums
Go Back   Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Forums > General Fly Fishing Discussion
Forums Register Blogs FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Live in Congleton, Cheshire. Work in Lincolnshire and live right by the river Witham during the week
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 6
bondubill is on a distinguished road
Default www.fishingrodlicence.com

Greetings.
Has anyone come accross this web site yet ? I was applying for my new rod licence on line yesterday and this site came up first on the search engine. Rod Licence Application Processing Services are charging an extra £14 on top of the licence fee for their services. Apparantly this is charged to cover them checking your on line application is correct before submitting it to the environment agency.
As I see it. It's a thinly disguised effort to 'earn' a fast £14 from those who perhaps aren't aware of pricing or even the location of the environment agency web site.
I admit that this is clearly stated on their web page.
I do not doubt it's legality.
It all just sounds a bit wrong to me and to be frank, stinks a bit.
A BIG bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,005
flyfishy61 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by bondubill View Post
Greetings.
Has anyone come accross this web site yet ? I was applying for my new rod licence on line yesterday and this site came up first on the search engine. Rod Licence Application Processing Services are charging an extra £14 on top of the licence fee for their services. Apparantly this is charged to cover them checking your on line application is correct before submitting it to the environment agency.
As I see it. It's a thinly disguised effort to 'earn' a fast £14 from those who perhaps aren't aware of pricing or even the location of the environment agency web site.
I admit that this is clearly stated on their web page.
I do not doubt it's legality.
It all just sounds a bit wrong to me and to be frank, stinks a bit.
A BIG bit.
this might not be right, i think the E A have a proper site to buy rod licence online and a free phone no. or the P O office. E A no 08708 506 506. too.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East Yorkshire
Posts: 208
ey_tony is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by bondubill View Post
Greetings.
Has anyone come accross this web site yet ? I was applying for my new rod licence on line yesterday and this site came up first on the search engine. Rod Licence Application Processing Services are charging an extra £14 on top of the licence fee for their services. Apparantly this is charged to cover them checking your on line application is correct before submitting it to the environment agency.
As I see it. It's a thinly disguised effort to 'earn' a fast £14 from those who perhaps aren't aware of pricing or even the location of the environment agency web site.
I admit that this is clearly stated on their web page.
I do not doubt it's legality.
It all just sounds a bit wrong to me and to be frank, stinks a bit.
A BIG bit.
Slightly OT - It's a similar prcatice to a site that comes up when someone tries to book a driving test online through the DSA by typing into the search engine " book your practical driving test online"...the unsuspecting candidate pays around the same extra fee of £14.00!
If you have kids who are applying for their test(s) ( practical or theory), make sure you look for the DSA website ONLY!
While it's not illegal, it's certainly sharp practice to say the least and as far as I am concerned it's still a parasitic rip off as it takes advantage of unsuspecting people and at the very least should carry a warning about the extra costs.

There's absolutely no need for their parasitic service as the DSA web site checks everything for the candidate and I'm sure the EA has the same level of service.

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,050
BobP is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

IGNORE this site. Go to the official Agency website.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2011, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 429
frankthesurf is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

Rip off, well I suppose not really in THEIR eyes. They are offering a 'service' which they charge you the privelidge for. My sister got ripped oss for £14 whern appling for her EU health card.
They all look like the 'genuine' website.
Most unsuspecting pay it then realise their mistake later.
There was a discussion on Radio 2 about them and the trouble is that they are not doing anything illegal as they are actually charging for the service
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2011, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London SW
Posts: 180
wifly is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

This came up in the press (perhaps Which?) a few months back. Originally they didn't have the warning but it was pointed out that they were acting illegally. Complete scam
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2011, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East Yorkshire
Posts: 208
ey_tony is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthesurf View Post
Rip off, well I suppose not really in THEIR eyes. They are offering a 'service' which they charge you the privelidge for. My sister got ripped oss for £14 whern appling for her EU health card.
They all look like the 'genuine' website.
Most unsuspecting pay it then realise their mistake later.
There was a discussion on Radio 2 about them and the trouble is that they are not doing anything illegal as they are actually charging for the service
Like I've said earlier, it's sharp practice to say the least and although it is actually legal, it's still a nasty an uneccessary way of taking money off the unsuspecting and as far as I'm concerned, still nothing more than a rip off!

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2011, 07:38 AM
birdsnest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 2,555
birdsnest is on a distinguished road
Default Re: www.fishingrodlicence.com

I'll get you a licence if you like.........I only charge £10 on top................birdsnest
__________________
Fear not if I steal from your side, as of yore, from paradise streams to fish Teifi once more.
BN based in Wolverhampton
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Loading...
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006-2011 Fish&Fly Ltd